Five Finger Run

5 Fingers

The winter has been full of it’s fair share of couch lounging with an occasional bike ride or yoga workout. Certainly nothing consistent!

When the weather turned nice I worked out in the yard and called that good. Not only did it get something accomplished, but it got me outside and physically active. Yeah, like that was a real excuse not to do a good workout!

Today isn’t exactly a pretty one, but it’s not raining either. It is grey and damp. Sidewalks are soaked from last night’s showers. Puddles are sitting at street corners asking for your spare change so they can lose it in their muddy depths. Dogs are stuck at home because their owners just don’t feel like taking them out.

That’s what kind of day it is today.

Somehow against all the odds of the day I got out for a run! Ok, I woke up cranky and pissed at the world, but hey, it made me break a good sweat!

The last time I went for a run I was wearing my old sneakers that I had hiked a couple hundred miles over the Appalachian Trail in. Comfortable, but still sneakers. Sneakers have a tendency to make my heals jam into the ground and the rest of my feet to follow with a slap.

So instead I wriggled into my KMD Sports (Vibram Five Fingers), enjoying their light weight and the way they force my stride to change.

The first few blocks (maybe 10?) were easy-going, getting used to the feel of running on the balls of my feet instead of my heals. Then I cranked it up. One and a half blocks sprinting, half a block walking. Alternating between the two until running one block was all I could muster and then I’d have to walk a full block just to catch my breath again. My toes were wet, calves on fire and my chest was burning as if a dragon was breathing into it at every breath. The feel of flying though was such an amazing feel that I know I will do it again in a couple of days. Landing softly on the balls of my feet and pushing off again without having any hard slam of my weight being thrown down onto the concrete through my feet was the most amazing thing a runner can have I think. I haven’t gone seriously running for a couple of years now, but why didn’t I think of running barefoot or at least just running on the balls of my feet instead of the heals like I’d always done?

The day was miserable but the run was exciting. I got that rush of endorphins that comes from a good powerful workout, and that’s all I needed for the rest of the day to be one of the best in this grey showers filled April.

2 thoughts on “Five Finger Run”

  1. I decided to go back through a few of your posts and I can’t believe I didn’t comment on those wonderful five fingers. Those wonderful aromatic fingers that our closet shall never forget. Snicker, snicker! Love ya Chelle!

  2. Way too funny! I was thinking of you just last night when I kicked them off and curled up barefoot on the couch. That “wonderful aroma” you speak of just kind of wafted up into my nose and your closet immediately came to mind! It doesn’t still smell of my shoes does it?!!!! Love you too Auuuunty Lisaaaaa!

Leave a Reply

