Last Thursday

Last night was the Last Thursday On Alberta St Market.

Neither Seth or I had ever been to it before, but that didn’t stop us from cycling up there with the trike and setting it up as our own art stand!

Sorry, in the excitement we forgot to take pictures. Bad us!

We slow walked through the first couple blocks until we found a very nice little corner where the road narrowed a bit and the crowd was drawn in by one of those “see how strong you are” bell thingys. I held Marin while Seth did most of the setting up, then I added my touch with the art and started working on a painting right there.

Just sitting and looking at people never worked to draw in a crowd. No sirree. What DID work though, was ignoring them and painting, open coffee jar and everything! I think people were drawn mostly by the comforting smell. They would stop and look… smile… ask what kind of paint it is.

“Why it’s coffee!” I’d say, to which a look of surprise would cross their face until I allowed them to smell my paint.

“Wow, it really IS coffee!”

I think that was the most fun part, seeing people register that yes indeed I was making art out of their daily morning beverage.

 

4 thoughts on “Last Thursday”

    1. Unfortunately no.. 😦
      I’m heading down to visit family in Colorado. Next Last Thursday for me should be August. Looking forward to seeing you SOMETIME at the market though!

Leave a Reply

