Typical Day In Camp

Mornings start off nice and cool. Warm enough to leave Marin in her diaper without putting any clothes on her, but still cool enough to enjoy being outside. Later, (1/2 hour later) it has warmed up enough that a cold fruit smoothie is welcome for breakfast.

Grandpa is really good at sharing his breakfast smoothie with Marin
Grandpa is really good at sharing his breakfast smoothie with Marin

A couple hours after breakfast comes the first of 2 or 3 naps for the little girl. She just goes, and goes, and goes, playing with all her aunts and uncles so it’s no wonder she needs more nap time down here than she does up in Portland where she only has Seth and I to play with through the day.

Napping in the hammock is a win-win for Rinny and I
Napping in the hammock is a win-win for Rinny and I

In the evening we are all so dusty and dirty, that often times the family will drive into town for showers. When we don’t go in, or when I opt to stay at camp instead of going for the drive, we pull out Ann’s (Tim and Ann are the couple who’s land we are staying on) big blue tote bucket, fill it up with a bit of sun-warmed water, plunk Marin in it as her sophisticated evening bath, and scrub her down. After getting her all clean, she stays in the tub and plays while I get a quick outer-appendage scrub-down. It’s not as clean feeling as getting a shower and washing your hair, but it’s wonderfully refreshing after a hot sticky dusty day.

Kitchen spoons make wonderful bath toys!
Kitchen spoons make wonderful bath toys!

Later in the evening as the sun sets and the air starts to slowly cool down from the high 90’s or low 100’s, Grandma gets a little snuggle and play time with her little girl before I scoop her off to our tent for some more quiet wind-down playtime with whatever she can find to amuse herself with in my tent, which usually ends up as……. my tooth brush. Then it’s bedtime and the end of the day.

Kisses, hugs and fun playtime with Grandma before going to bed.
Kisses, hugs and fun playtime with Grandma before going to bed.
Favorite toy in the tent is my toothbrush. I just bought a new one today so I wouldn't have to keep digging dirt out when I want to use it!
Favorite toy in the tent is my toothbrush. I just bought a new one today so I wouldn’t have to keep digging dirt out when I want to use it!

Good night!

Leave a Reply

