A Project for the New Year

You know how some people set New Year’s Resolutions? In fact, most people in Canada and the States do. Well, seeing as I made a point years ago to never set a resolution for the start of a new year, I’ve been working on something since mid December and hopefully will get it up and running by the end of the next little bit. See… it’s not because of a calendar date!

My little thing I want to get up and going, is an Etsy store. I’m sure that most of you have heard of Etsy before. Handcrafted items mailed to you in a lovingly wrapped package, etc.

I do have one little problem though. While most people seem to have set up stores because they make too much of one thing for the fun of it and no longer have room in their house, and have to sell their items in order to make room to make more things, I’ve got a little different problem. I like making too many things, and don’t make the time for any one thing! So what to set the store up with?

Years ago I used to draw with charcoal. They were on regular sized art paper, but took ridiculously long to finish because of all the detail that I would try to put into it. Right now I just don’t have any place to leave something like that set up, away from careless fingers.

Currently I’ve been having fun making wool leggings with skirts for Marin, small kites out of tissue paper and bigger ones from recycled wind surfer sails, as well as some other random crafty stuff. It would be great fun if the kites were to be big sellers, but who is to say that any of them will sell at all? Set up with something special in mind? or put out a bunch of different items and see what sells?

Grrr! and then there is the issue of taking wonderful pictures of said items. I’m not a photographer! Worse yet, I don’t know how to properly tweak photos on the computer to make them look better.

Well, I guess instead of a New Year Resolution to stop doing something, start doing something else or change something I don’t like, this New Year project will be to create a working shop with real income (no matter how small it starts).

Cheers everyone! Here’s to being creative in 2014!

4 thoughts on “A Project for the New Year”

    1. I am hoping to have it open by the 20th of this month (January). I will make a post on her about it when it opens with a link and everything, so you will have a chance to check it out right away.

      Thank you so much for your interest!

Leave a Reply

