Exercising as a Mom

Pretty much all through my teen years I was slightly obsessed with staying fit. Truth is, I wanted 6-pack abs, but quickly came to the conclusion that unless I became a body builder, that just wasn’t going to happen. I think it all really started when I watched “Braveheart” and saw the scene where William Wallace is running along the mountain ridges of Scotland. Pretty much from then on I started running and worked up to about 26 km every week, split into two sprint days and one stamina. Along with that were some hiking and backpacking trips with my dad (he’s a wonderful fellow), which always spurred me on to keep working out. Then I discovered an Oya women’s kickboxing group just a couple minutes down the road and started going. I loved the full body workout that kickboxing gave me, along with skills in balance. My coach was pretty awesome too, pushing us all hard and encouraging us to do our best, but tailoring things slightly to accommodate each of our strengths and weaknesses. After that, I moved across the country (I was living in Canada) to help my aunt and uncle build their house. Even without doing any of the framing, I put on 10 lbs of muscle working around their property. Next came my attempt to thru hike the Appalachian Trail (2,176 miles) which I was only able to complete 600+, and then I bicycle toured with my now husband along the coast of California.

That all sounds like a great tradition in exercise and how could someone with that background ever stop working out?!

The answer is “mom-hood”.

My husband and I had a baby. Even though I tried to stay fit throughout the pregnancy, it was just too easy to relax and let everyone else do stuff. After Marin was born, Seth was a huge encouragement to get me outside for long walks, but the sore hips and pelvis were depressing, so I settled down to just going for shorter walks with the dog.

Now Marin is a 17 months, my hips are perfectly fine (unless I walk all the way downtown and back) and I have no excuse to not exercise. But Marin takes up a lot of time and it is nearly impossible to work out with her around as she climbs all over me. Running on these streets is hard with a stroller trying to maneuver all the curbs. Nap time is the only time of the day that I can really focus on projects that I want to get done, and don’t want to waste that precious time on working out. And… truth be told…. I don’t really want to work out. I’d much rather curl up on the couch and get lost in a good book with cup of chocolate ice-cream in hand. Besides, doesn’t housework count as working out?

Oh, what is a mother to do?!!!

I have not come up with the answer yet. a couple weeks ago I decided that I would take a rock climbing course at the local rock gym and start going early in the mornings before Marin wakes up and Seth has to go to work, but I still haven’t organised that yet. I think I’ll just have to force myself to go for a run in the mornings or evenings when Seth is around to watch the little one.

Today I got lucky as it is Seth’s day off and he took little Rinny down to OMSI for a couple hours, leaving me to do whatever I wanted. I knew I needed to get out and burn some steam, so it worked out great to allow me to take the dog for a run and do some extra workouts at home. Just as a side note, Lorax (the dog) was much slower than myself. I had to keep encouraging him to come along! Yay for me running faster than a pit-rhodesian cross!

I’m sorry, I’m sure you thought there was going to be a great grand and glorious answer to the mother’s exercise problem, but there isn’t. I’m in the same boat as everyone else, with just a wafting memory of the wonderful days of perpetual energy and a love to push my body.

 

Leave a Reply

